Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

01/19/06 Tipping January 19, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 2:46 pm

What is the criteria for tipping? We went out for a department lunch. There were 5 of us. The service was mediocre. Matt the waiter was a bit of a dork, he forgot to ask us about refills or more bread until the end of the meal, and we didn’t really care that he went fishing in the rain on Monday. But someone in our group decided that his tip should be nothing. I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve left nothing for a tip. His service wasn’t bad enough to warrant that. He should have gotten half a tip. If I’d had cash in my wallet (I never have cash – the kids and Thomas usually get it) I’d have left him cash. Part of me feels like going back and giving him a tip. I am kind of embarrassed for our group and the situation is not sitting well with me.

 

3 Responses to “01/19/06 Tipping”

  1. Rhonda H Says:

    did you say anything to the group?

  2. ThomastheBrave Says:

    I am sorry to hear that ((Honey)). That kind of thing is why I like to still cary Cash. That is also why I like to have you keep some on you. You always say, “No you have it, I don’t need it or use it any way.” Any Way I am with you and would have wanted to go back and give him a tip.

  3. Liz Says:

    Ra-I said something to my boss in the car on the way back from the office. He even said that he usually leaves something, not nothing. But he made no effort to override what was done.


Comments are closed.