Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

06/07/06B About work June 7, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 7:54 pm

It’s been a hectic couple of months! I even had to drop intermediate accounting for a couple of weeks. I just started it back up yesterday. I feel like I’m more in the groove to go to school. May was just too hectic for me.

I am not a fan of meetings. I have loads of meetings now and I don’t get as much real work done as I want to. I am frustrated by the piece of sh*t software we have to use. You can’t even export anything to excel. I have to print it to a pdf file then copy it a page at a time and paste it to excel as a table. That works about 90% of the time. It is a tedious process. But because it takes so long, I am spending way more on analysis than I figured and I don’t have any time to research new software. This is frustrating.

I don’t feel like I’ve accomplished much in the almost two months I’ve been there. I’ve gotten started down several paths, but I feel like I’m spinning my wheels. Nothing gets finished. I think I have about 6 or 7 open projects and I don’t know when any of them will get done. Ok, so I’m done whining.

I like working there and I like the responsibility. When I voice an opinion, I am taken seriously. This is a nice thing. I spent the last three years talking to the walls. No one listened to anything I said and if they had on a few things, they wouldn’t be as screwed up in a couple of areas. But hey, I don’t work there anymore and that’s their problem.

I’m going to go read Mapp and Lucia 🙂

 

2 Responses to “06/07/06B About work”

  1. Mary H Says:

    Mapp and Lucia?

    You don’t know how inspiring it is to hear about your new job and to remember what you put up with for THREE YEARS before things changed.

    I guess that I am lucky in that I love what I do and where I work, even though I know I will move on when the right job opens up.

    Yesterday in the lunchroom, my principal talked about hiring me and what a good decision that was. A few days after I started fulltime, I had to take time off to go back for a “goodbye assembly” at my old school. They gave me a wonderful book that the kids and staff made, with photos, drawings, and messages from everyone. My principal told me that when she looked at it, she wondered how I could leave since they obviously loved me. She understands now and she has written me some amazing references. I’ve been very lucky in the past two jobs. They may not pay much but I have been blessed to work there.

  2. Liz Says:

    I put up with a lot of crap for three years. But then again I also learned a lot. And I got experience in Eugene, which seems to count for something up her. I really like where I work and I have less crap to put up with … but I still have some crap 🙂


Comments are closed.