Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

08/14/06 Packing and getting the house ready August 14, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 1:52 pm

I hate yard work. That is why I sold my house in Hayward and bought a condo … well that and I hated living in Hayward. So we own a house with a huge yard (front and back). Thomas is mostly responsible for the yard. I don’t think either one of us are exceptional at it. At least he mows the lawn regularly. We have a vegetable garden this year. The lettuce was excellent. The tomatoes aren’t ripe yet. We have no squash yet and the corn isn’t big enough to pick. We have 3 dwarf fruit trees but only the apple tree is producing fruit this year (no honey, one measly pear does not constitute producing fruit). I’ve had tulips, daffodils, and narcissus for the last two years. I planted about two feet worth two falls ago and then couldn’t move for two days. I never planted any more. So back to yard work. We’ve all been trying to do our part to make the outside of the house look presentable for when we go to sell it. Thomas and the boys have been doing yeoman duty! The boys got the debris off the roof. They all pressure washed the house, front & back patios, and the front walk. It looks great! I did my part on Saturday morning then had trouble moving for the rest of the day. I got rid of about 12 feet of blackberry vines, thistles, and other sundry weeds. It took me an hour an a half and all I got out of it was a measly small bowl of blackberries. I also got a horrific flare up of tendonitis. Nice reward …

It is a lot easier to get work done when Christopher is asleep, naturally. He’s not really into watching mommy pack. He’d rather use the living room furniture as a jungle gym. He’s tall enough to crawl on everything. He’s even taken a few steps. Last night he stood up, looked at me with this ‘watch this mommy’ look, then took three steps and plopped on his butt. There’s no stopping him now!

It took 16 banker boxes to pack all of the books in the family room. I also have a bookshelf of books in the bedroom. I’ve packed about 2/3rds of the loose craft supplies in the family room. This doesn’t count what’s in the garage. Holy crap that’s going to take some serious boxes! Moving is going to be a b*tch!

I didn’t do any homework this weekend. I never made it to my computer for long enough. I hate this class, it’s income taxes. I hate taxes.

I finally got my eyes examined! Yes, I know it’s long past due (no comments from the peanut gallery please). My distance vision didn’t change, but I do need reading glasses (duh!). So I ordered my progressives today. They should be here in 10 days. Hooray!

 

6 Responses to “08/14/06 Packing and getting the house ready”

  1. Rhonda H Says:

    So is there room for a guest in your new house? hehe

  2. Liz Says:

    Oh we’ll squeeze you in somewhere 😉

  3. Rhonda H Says:

    yippee 🙂

    COngrats on the house — it looks lovely!

  4. Liz Says:

    We sign papers on Tuesday!

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Progressives are nice…no one can tell and you can read. Next pair do your sun glasses so you can read the cell phone, the map, etc…

    So are there pictures of the new house somewhere?

    Karen survived the first week…She’s sleeping

  6. Liz Says:

    Lexi I can’t see the cell phone screen with my sunglasses on … there’s something about the sunglass colour that makes everything on the cell phone look grey.

    I will e-mail you the pics of the house from the real estate listing. We get the keys Friday night and I’ll take pictures then.

    Let Karen sleep 🙂


Comments are closed.