Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

10/04/06 Battlestar Galactica October 4, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 1:33 pm

Friday at 9pm is the Season 3 opener for the new Battlestar Galactica. I watched about an hour of part 2 of the miniseries. I just couldn’t get into it. I missed part 1 and I was totally lost. I wanted to like it. I loved the original. But what’s not to love about Richard Hatch and Dirk Benedict! Besides Men in Trees is on at 9pm on Fridays and I already like that. I’ve always liked Anne Heche all the way back to the time when she was on the daytime soap Another World.

Oh geez, and I just ALT-TAB-ed back to the Sci-Fi channel’s web page and they have Doctor Who now too. I loved the books but hated the TV show on PBS. I’d love to watch that but it’s on Fridays at 8pm. That’s when I TiVo Grey’s Anatomy because the Thursday showing of it is against CSI. I need another TiVo. I know they now have dual tuner TiVos out there but mine is more than just TiVo. It also has a DVD-R/RW. So it’s a multi-function set-top box. That’s important. I don’t like single function set-top boxes.

Later … I just read all of the episode sysnopses for seasons 1 and 2. It’s nothing like the original series. They kept some of the names and the most basic premise that they’re searching for Earth. Oh, and Richard Hatch is still there, but in a different role. Beyond that it’s a whole new show. Geez, Starbuck and Boomer are now women. That is so wrong …

 

4 Responses to “10/04/06 Battlestar Galactica”

  1. Rhonda H Says:

    No… it is GREAT!! Starbuck is a really feisty gal and it is a super series! We have the DVDs now of the first 2 seasons — started watching it in season 1 (this time around) and got hooked. Give it another chance… I think you would love it. Lots of surprises in store apparently this new year also.

    So far verdict for the newer Dr. Who (we are seeing the second or third year of it here btw, not the beginning) is so-so. I think I really rather prefer Tom Baker and his long scarf Who series.

  2. Liz Says:

    Ok, then can you loan me the DVD’s of season 1 & 2? They’re running a marathon on Friday, but only a handful of episodes. I’m TiVoing them, the season 3 premiere at 11pm and Dr Who at 1am. That is one nice thing about the Sci-Fi channel, they play things a gazillion times! Still … Starbuck as a girl … I don’t know … does she smoke cigars?

  3. Anonymous Says:

    You need to go to the abc.com and cbs.com etc, and watch the entire shows with just a short commercial in between sections. Very cool. I was stuck in New Orleans in an office, with just a computer and an internet connection. Caught the episode of Studio 60 and CSI…I love it!

  4. Liz Says:

    We watched part of a Lost episode on abc.com … it was nice to catch the bit we missed, but I like sitting on the sofa watching it on a screen where I can see everything.

    Why were you in New Orleans?

    Starbuck smokes cigars when she plays cards.


Comments are closed.