Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

10/05/06 To carpet or not … October 5, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 1:47 pm

Selling a house sucks. And apparently now is not the time to be selling. Well too bad, I need to sell my house dammit! I don’t know whether to replace the carpet or not. The real estate agent and a couple of other people (whose opinions I respect) recommend replacing the carpet. I’m hesitant for a couple of reasons. First of all I am loathe to substitute my taste for someone elses. Who is to say that what I chose someone else will like. I know, go neutral and cheap. Well what I picked out is both. And if the house doesn’t sell in the next month or two we are thinking of renting it out. If we do that, we’d just rather have the existing carpets cleaned. I think they’ll look a lot nicer after we do that. So I’m just throwing this out into the universe and maybe an answer will drop itself in my lap … or not.

 

6 Responses to “10/05/06 To carpet or not …”

  1. Julie Says:

    Hey Liz! Our neighbors tried selling without replacing their carpet & then caved. They put in a “realtor quality” carpet. We’ll see. I’m glad I’m not trying to sell my house now. There are over 240 houses for sale here – definitely a buyer’s market!

  2. Liz Says:

    My sister posted a comment to this entry, but I think I accidentally deleted it. Sorry Ra! 😦

    I think what is under our carpets is subfloor. We are having the carpet installed on the 23rd. We have to have the subfloor in the family room repaired, which will ruin the linoleum. So we are putting carpet there too. Oy!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    They wanted us to replace our plum wine carpet in Ventura with realtor beige. We kept looking for an agent who loved it as much as we did. I must admit the carpet was pretty new. We were lucky, our house sold in 8 days.

  4. Liz Says:

    I liked your plum carpet. The problem is the carpet in the Living Room/Dining Room/Hall is beige. The carpet in the boys’ bedrooms is mottled dark something and the carpet in the master bedroom is yucky medium blue. The new carpet goes in on Monday. It will look nice. Our house will be 100% move in ready! I think there will be an open house on Sunday the 29th, so hold good thoughts for us!

  5. Rhonda H Says:

    yeah I think I said go with hardwood floors? Or maybe I said buy new carpet — I forgot LOL
    So what did you decide?

  6. Liz Says:

    Ra, we decided on new carpet everywhere. It’s sort of a mottled beige … nice realtor neutral with a little pizzaz so it’s not too boring.


Comments are closed.