Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

11/11/06 The real Veteran’s Day November 11, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 11:07 am

Why do we celebrate days on days that aren’t really the day? The kids were off from school and they didn’t even know why. This is sad. The banks were closed. Did those people know why?

I think people do a lot of things without knowing why. It’s like that story I read in Reader’s Digest about the woman who trimmed the end off of the roast she was about to put in the oven. She didn’t know why she did it, she just did it because her mother did. When her mother was questioned about it she said she never had a pan large enough to fit a roast, so she’d cut off the end. Clearly the daughter should have asked questions.

Then there’s the scene in the movie Black Widow (with Debra Winger and Theresa Russel http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0090738/) where Debra Winger’s character told some fabulous tale to her boss as to why she did what she did. The boss bought it hook, line, and sinker. She then said it was all a lie, but he was willing to buy it. Her final comment was something to the effect that ‘who knows why we do what we do’.

So do you know why you do some of the things you do?

 

5 Responses to “11/11/06 The real Veteran’s Day”

  1. Rhonda H Says:

    That’s a good question. Hard to answer too… hard to break old habits (as I look around and see my messy room).

  2. Julie Says:

    I thought this was great – at the elementary school where I work (Head Start rents my room) they did some sort of Veteran’s Day ceremony. They sang patriotic songs & the stage was decorated with tons of poppies. I don’t think my kids’ schools did anything. R & V were just happy to have a day off. Rebecca attended a sleepover b-day party!

    We do what we do for such a complex combination of reasons, there wouldn’t be enough space in the blog to explain it all! Personality, experiences, environment, intelligence, capabilities, motivation all play a part. I can’t think of anything I do simply because my mom/parents did it (e.g. cutting the ends off a roast).

  3. Liz Says:

    There is one thing I do that I started doing because my mom did it. I now know the reason behind it though. When I cook artichokes, I put about a tablespoon of cider vinegar in the water before I put the artichokes in. I didn’t know the reason why until fairly recently. Apparently the vinegar helps keep the artichokes from turning brown. Kind of like lime helps keep avocados from turning brown when you make guacamole.

  4. Rhonda H Says:

    and the cider vinegar just gives it a nicer taste than plain vinegar — like lemon on sliced apples too. Yummmm artichokes!

  5. Anonymous Says:

    We do garlic and lemon juice in the water, and we use our pressure cooker as they’re done in 12 minutes!!! It’s wonderful


Comments are closed.