Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

12/01/06 The ‘official’ start to the Christmas season December 1, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 9:26 am

I just cannot get enthused about Christmas until today. There is something wrong about wanting to start celebrating it in November, or October, or September. Heck, even Advent doesn’t start until today. So today I will start dragging out the Christmas goodies … or maybe this weekend. We may even get our tree this weekend. I’ll take pictures.

Chanukah starts on the evening of the 14th. I know where the menorah *and* candles are!

How are you going to decorate for Christmas/Chanukah/Kwanzaa???

 

6 Responses to “12/01/06 The ‘official’ start to the Christmas season”

  1. Rhonda H Says:

    well we will do the usual — our traditional “Nightmare Before Christmas” tree… skeletons, bats, ghost lights, the usual… Mwuhahahaha
    A couple of pix are still up from my old blog at http://rhoz.blogspot.com/2006_01_01_rhoz_archive.html — I will take better pix this time!

  2. Julie Says:

    We did the usual trip to Home Depot tonight & got our tree(s). One for the livingroom & one for the girls’ ornaments that will go in the family room. I’m w/you Liz – I like a “no Christmas zone” until December 1st. We were at a restaurant w/Ryan & Michelle the day after Thanksgiving & they were playing nothing but Xmas music! But, tomorrow is the 2nd…so I will be decorating most of the weekend :-). Hope you are feeling better.

  3. Liz Says:

    Julie, you got your trees at Home Depot?!? There is just something so un-nature-ish about that (laughing) The last couple years we went to a ‘saw it down yourself’ place. Micah & Jonah make good sawer downers. I don’t know where we are going to get this year’s tree.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    We’re probably not going to decorate that much, as Karen’s working until 7 at school and then comes home and works some more if she has the energy. Florence is coming down here on the 16th and staying 3 weeks. This time she’s actually staying at Mom’s house. They get along famously. I’ll probably take a week off from work.

    There was talk that Karen would go up to her parents, but after they were here a couple of days, her mom told her that she should stay here. She has two weeks, and will probably use most of that time trying to get ahead for next year. Nothing like a 1st year school teacher.

    As for your “time” for Xmas decorations. I remember being in Melbourne Australia in the middle of November, and the city center had the tree up. I looked this thing up and down, and thought “It’s not even Thanksgiving yet!” Then I remembered that they don’t have Thanksgiving when we do.

  5. Julie Says:

    Yes, Home Depot is not a “natural” place to get a tree…but it’s cheaper which works for me since I buy two trees. The girls get a 4ft. noble in the family room. And anyway, like it’s “natural” to drag a tree inside of a house so that we can load it up w/plastic/glass/china/metal/paper/etc.! My job description always doubles in December because I have to add Xmas shopping for 60 people, wrapping, decorating, baking, etc. onto the amount of things I usually have to do!

  6. Liz Says:

    Julie I do not know how you get through December! I am lucky to get presents for the boys and Thomas. I gave up baking too. We did not get a tree this weekend. We don’t know if we want to pull Christopher out of a tree this year. I have visions of him pulling it down on himself.


Comments are closed.