Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

05/02/07 Being alone May 2, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 3:02 pm

I actually left the office for lunch to do something more exciting than go to Safeway and I was driving up Delta Highway and realised I was alone. It was an odd feeling; a cross between panic and unfamiliarity. It got me thinking. I am not usually alone, as in all by myself, anymore. And I am not sure I like being alone either. Most of the time I like talking to Thomas on the phone while driving to work and home again. It makes the trip pass faster. Sometimes we even have real things we can talk about without being interrupted. At home I am mostly never alone because Christopher is usually there with me at least.

 

8 Responses to “05/02/07 Being alone”

  1. Rhonda H Says:

    It’s good to be alone sometimes, otherwise you will lose sight of who YOU really are.

  2. Liz Says:

    At the moment I am mostly alone. Thomas is out, Christopher is asleep (or he better be!) and Todd is probably licking his butt in some corner. But I don’t have time for introspective thought. I am trying to answer the question, “From what you have read about the earliest human civilizations, what factors do you think can lead to the growth of a society or culture?” for my Humanities class.

  3. Rhonda H Says:

    what did you come up with?
    My choices would be access to food, transportation, language development, leisure time, development of the arts and music, etc… the usual.

  4. Mary H Says:

    I have to second what Rhonda said about “alone time.” During that year I worked in Albany, I cherished that hour commute. It was the only alone time I had had in years. I thought. I prayed. I learned to appreciate the beauty of clouds and light—and dry weather! (remembering many days of driving in the wash of large semi-trailers and zero visibility)That is when I really learned to pray for protection!

  5. Liz Says:

    Ra – I went with a surplus of food leading to a surplus of resources in general which lead to a surplus of time to do things relating to humanities. Or something like that.
    Mary – Yes, that was one thing I did appreciate about my hour plus commutes every day. I could listen to books on tape, the radio, nothing. I got a lot of stress out while I was driving. At the time the traffic didn’t bother me as much.

  6. Julie Says:

    Have a Happy Mother’s Day!!! Ironically, what many women I’ve known want for Mother’s Day is time away from their kids! Hahaha. It’s so funny to hear you write about never being alone when for so many years you were frequently alone. During some of my own hectic weekend mornings years ago I used to think, “That $%&*ing Liz is probably in bed watching her soap recordings!!!!

  7. Rhonda H Says:

    Oh yeah, Happy Mother’s Day to ya kiddo!!
    Hugs!

  8. Liz Says:

    Julie, that’s why it was such a shock to me. And the only time I watch soap operas are on the off days I’m at home sick … so like twice a year??? Ah, the good old days šŸ™‚ LOL!!!


Comments are closed.