Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

05/11/07 I sprained it … May 11, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 6:08 pm

I didn’t know it was possible, but I sprained my neck. Not doing yoga, gardening, or tantric sex positions … I was rear ended yesterday. Some big honkin’ pickup (probably over loaded) plowed into a little Acura who hit me. It’s definitely not the way I like to start my day. I went to the doctor today and he officially diagnosed me with having a sprained neck. He recommended ice and ibuprofin. They also took x-rays. I thought I would post my notes to recap the incident here, that way if anyone asks, I will have it available and dated …

7:40am Turned off of Hawkins onto 18th. Came to a stop in front of Willamette Christian Centre on 18th, just east of Hawkins. There was a long line of cars from the stop light at City View. I heard a screech. I looked to my left and didn’t see anything. As I was about to look in my rear view mirror I heard the pickup slam into the Acura then the Acura slammed into me. My head jerked forward then flung back into the head rest. The force of the hit knocked my foot off the brake but I was able to reapply the brake to avoid hitting the car in front of me. We all pulled over to survey the damage. I called Thomas, then 911.

Notes:

My husband told me that the guy who hit us was telling his boss that the Acura turned in front of him. She couldn’t have because she had been coming down 18th before Hawkins. I know this because she was up the hill so I had plenty of time to make my right turn onto Hawkins.

As we were standing, waiting for the police officer to walk to his car and back to us the guy who hit us kept saying, “stupid, stupid, stupid”.

The skid mark was 8 – 10 feet long.

 

4 Responses to “05/11/07 I sprained it …”

  1. Rhonda H Says:

    oh dear, that is horrible 😦 I do hope your neck heals quickly — they are tender things. Tantric sex eh? hmmm… nope, don’t have that image of you (or don’t want it? LOL)

    How’s your car?

  2. Liz Says:

    The car is fine. There are a couple of tiny dings on the bumper but nothing that I’m going to rush out and fix.

  3. Mary H Says:

    The only thing that really needs fixing is your poor neck! I’m sorry that this happened to you and hope the healing is quick.

  4. Julie Says:

    Get well soon Liz!


Comments are closed.