Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

05/30/07 Memorial Day Weekend a little late May 30, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 11:17 am

We had a mostly great weekend with little bits of icky-ness. It was Thomas’ grandfather’s 93rd birthday over the weekend so naturally we had to go to California for the weekend. I was not looking forward to 2 – 10 hour drives with a 2 year old in the car. Thankfully we broke up the drive down by going halfway on Friday night and the rest of the way on Saturday morning. Also Micah was with us so he was a great help keeping the little guy somewhat entertained. We spent the first night in Crescent City. It was nice to get up, go outside, and smell the sea air. I really miss that. The only bummer was it was sort of foggy. But as we headed south, the sun came out and was out all weekend!

We spent the next 2 nights in Redwood Valley with friends of Thomas’. They have a huge house with lots of land (complete with snakes for Micah). Christopher got to try fresh strawberries and kumquats. He also played a real piano. He’s really good for a 2 year old! He didn’t just bang on it he thought he was playing music and what came out was better than anything I could do. Micah got to fly an airplane. I think that event was the highlight of his life! It was nice to relax for a bit and enjoy peaceful surroundings. I started my art journal. I sketched a fence and tried to sketch a tree but I got interrupted. I also did a lamp. Hey, the instructions said just start with anything, so I did. I like my green pen and my moleskein book. If it’s good enough for Hemmingway then it should be good enough for me! Thomas got to show Micah some things from his past that are meaningful to him. I don’t know if Micah appreciated it but maybe someday he will.

Grandpa’s party was nice. It was at Thomas’ uncle’s house in Ukiah. We had a simple BBQ and everyone got a chance to visit with grandpa. Micah got him to tell some stories of when he was a kid. We got these on video! We have been trying to get some of grandpa’s stories on video for a long time. Micah did a good job of being unobtrusive so grandpa just kept talking.

On the way home we stopped at the beach just before Crescent City. Christopher got to put his feet in the Pacific Ocean. He was so cute … the wave would come in, his feet would be in about a half an inch of water and he would say, “Run!” and he would run towards Micah up the beach. He thought that up all by himself. How did he know you run from waves?

 

7 Responses to “05/30/07 Memorial Day Weekend a little late”

  1. Rhonda H Says:

    glad you started drawing!!

    Good thing he ran from the waves instead of into them lol
    Sounds like a nice weekend. We saw Shrek 3 and Pirates of the Caribbean 3… now just waiting for the 4th ones LOL

  2. Julie Says:

    Hope you have all recuperated! I miss the ocean so much.

  3. Mary H Says:

    He knew to run from the waves because he is a native Oregonian. They instintively know about sneaker waves!

    —Mary

  4. Liz Says:

    Julie – I miss the ocean too. The Oregon coast is not the same as the CA coast so even if we manage to go it’s not the same.
    Mary – We know about sneaker waves in CA too 🙂

  5. Mary H Says:

    Growing up, the only beaches I knew were on the Long Island Sound and the Gulf of Mexico. Never heard of sneaker waves there!

    —Mary

  6. ThomastheBrave Says:

    LOL! Did you even have waves on Long Island?

  7. ThomastheBrave Says:

    Oops, I’m on Thomas’ computer so it looks like Thomas is commenting, but it’s me, Liz.


Comments are closed.