Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

07/01/07 New Puppy! July 1, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 10:57 am

We got a puppy yesterday. It’s a black lab and we paid actual money for a dog. Holy cow! Really it’s for Micah, but he’s in Bend with a friend so we had to pick him out. At the moment his name is Puppy. Micah will name him eventually.

Christopher is afraid of him. I would be too if something almost as big as I am tried licking me and chewing on my hand. LOL!

Having a puppy is like having a baby, they keep you up all night! The puppy finally calmed down when we let him in the house. But we got two visits from neighbors complaining about the howling. Believe me we didn’t like the howling any more than the neighbors did. We’re going to have Micah sleep outside with him for the next couple of nights. My MIL suggested getting a big crate as a safe place for him to sleep inside.

 

8 Responses to “07/01/07 New Puppy!”

  1. Julie Says:

    OMG! I didn’t know you were planning to get a puppy. And with a 2 year old – you are braver than me. I agree w/MIL – it’s a good idea to crate train him. Where did you get him? I love labs. I never considered getting one because they require a lot of attention & exercise. Two words: Obedience School! Congrats – he’s absolutely adorable.

  2. Rhonda H Says:

    cute puppy!
    Nothing like having another (big) mouth to feed! LOL

  3. Liz Says:

    *I* wasn’t planning on getting another dog. Thomas got an e-mail from a co-worker who got it from a friend of a friend. This family about an hour north of us was selling their last 3 puppies (their lab had 8 puppies!) at a discount. Micah has expressed a desire for a “big” dog. Ruffy is 14 and not his (she’s really Jonah’s) and his mom’s dog is this little yappy dog who likes to bite him. Thomas had labs as a boy and likes them.

  4. Liz Says:

    Oh cool, my Flickr photostream is working now. If you go to my main 360 page, there are more pictures of the puppy there. Micah is still thinking of a name for him.

  5. Julie Says:

    Wow, Ruffy is 14. It’s a good idea to get a dog now for sure if you are planning on always being dog owners. That way the lab will never be considered a “replacement dog”. We got Kona when we did because I knew that Bodie (at 13.5) was already pushing his life span. I agree w/Micah – no yappy dogs!!!

  6. Liz Says:

    I think that’s what Thomas was thinking. Besides a boy needs a dog, especially an outdoors boy like Micah. Ruffy isn’t sure what to make of the puppy. LOL! I think she’s a little bent out of shape because she can’t sample his food!

  7. Rhonda H Says:

    so what’s the pup’s name already? LOL

  8. Liz Says:

    His name is still Puppy 🙂 Micah just can’t be rushed 🙂


Comments are closed.