Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

11/28/07 Last night’s dinner November 28, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 10:27 am

I actually made a recipe from one of those family things I get in my e-mail. I made maple-glazed pork chops with apples. It was ok. I ended up overcooking the chops because I was trying to get the sauce to be more glazy. It was sort of watery. I omitted the bread crumbs because I didn’t have any. I wonder if that was the problem? Here is the recipe …

RECIPE INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon spicy brown mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 cup bread crumbs
  • 4 pork loin cutlets (about 1 pound)
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1/2 cup apple cider
  • 2 medium Golden Delicious or Granny Smith apples, each cored and cut into 16 wedges

1. In a small bowl, stir together the maple syrup, mustard, salt, and pepper until well combined. Place the bread crumbs in a large ziplock bag, add the pork, then seal the bag and shake it to coat the cutlets.

2. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the pork and cook it for 2 minutes on each side or until golden brown. Add the cider and apple wedges. Bring the cider to a boil, then reduce the heat and let it simmer uncovered for 5 to 7 minutes or until the pork is done. Stir in the maple syrup mixture and cook the pork for 5 minutes more or until the pan sauces are thick and syrupy. Makes 4 servings.

