Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

12/02/07 I made art today! December 2, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 5:02 pm

I am in a calendar swap with my local art group. We do this every year and even though I think I’ve only been to one or two meetings this year I am happy that they include me. I did the month of February. The theme was your favourite quote. Someone already did the Ghandi quote I like so I chose the quote by Mother Theresa. The most fun part was making the background. I did monoprints with chalk ink. Thomas helped me with the layout. He’s good at that sort of thing. We wanted the picture of Mother Theresa to be a little smaller because he said she was a humble woman but I only know how to print the contact sheet size and the wallet size. I don’t know how to print any size in between. The contact sheet size was way too small. Oh well. She’ll just have to understand!

My mother-in-law is in the hospital. She had surgery for diverticulitis and is doing ok. It’s never easy to be in the hospital, but especially when they mess with your intestines! We’re going to go visit her later this evening.

Christopher just woke up from his nap and now he’s blowing things on my desk.

 

3 Responses to “12/02/07 I made art today!”

  1. Mary H Says:

    Good page, Liz!

    The easiest way to quickly adjust picture size is to use MS Word! The picture toolbar is pretty good & I use it with students and staff a lot. Open a new document, insert picture from file (or paste, if it is from the ‘net). Make sure that you can see the handlebars (or corners) and use them to resize. You can also adjust brightness/contrast & do some other fun things too.

    If you can’t put it on the page where you want, right click on it and select “Format Picture”, Layout, Tight, OK” The handlebars change to white. Now you can put it where you want it.

    I’m glad to hear that the surgery went well. I hope she has a quick recovery.

    —Mary

  2. Julie Says:

    Your page is beautiful! Best wishes to your MIL!

  3. Liz Says:

    Mary I can adjust picture sizes in a cool little graphics program I have called Lview. It just required more braincells than I had available at that time 🙂

    MIL got out of the hospital yesterday and is happy to be home!


Comments are closed.