Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

12/18/07 Dinner … again … December 18, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 7:57 am

Dinner comes around every damn day! Last night I actually thought of something all by myself. We still have some stuff from the Omaha Steaks gift package from Thomas’ mom. One of the things was sirloin tips. So I went to their website to see if they had any recipes for them. I found Beef Burgundy and chose it because I had nearly all of the ingredients. Rather than make Beef Burgundy I made Beef Cabernet Sauvignion. Here is the recipe (with my modifications because they left some stuff out) …

Ingredients:

  • ¼ lb. mushrooms, sliced (I would use twice this)
  • 6 small pearl onions, cut into fourths (I would use twice this)
  • 3 Tbsp. butter (I did half butter and half olive oil)
  • olive oil
  • clove garlic crushed
  • two strips bacon
  • 1 lb. Top Sirloin Steak, cut into 1″ cubes or 1 pkg, Tenderloin or Sirloin Tips, cut into cubes
  • 1 Tbsp. flour
  • ½ cup burgundy wine
  • ¼ cup beef broth
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • ½ tsp. ground thyme
  • 1 ½ cups carrots, diagonally sliced (too many for me)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Hot buttered noodles (8ozs)
  • 1 ½ Tbsp. parsley chopped – I omitted this

Procedure:

  1. In a large skillet, sauté mushrooms and onions in hot butter, olive oil, and garlic until golden brown. Remove from skillet and set aside.
  2. Add bacon to skillet and fry until crisp; remove with a slotted spoon and reserve.
  3. Add Top Sirloin Steak to skillet and fry in bacon fat, stirring frequently, until well browned.
  4. Return mushroom and onion mixture to skillet and add flour, toss until flour disappears.
  5. Add wine, beef broth, bay leaf, garlic, and thyme. Simmer covered for 30 minutes, stirring frequently. At the halfway point put the water on for the noodles.
  6. Add carrots and cooked bacon, and cook covered for 15 minutes longer.
  7. Season with salt and pepper.
  8. Before serving, remove bay leaf.
  9. Serve over hot buttered noodles.
  10. Sprinkle with parsley.

Serves 3-4 (not really, it served the two of us with a tiny bit of leftovers)

 

3 Responses to “12/18/07 Dinner … again …”

  1. MaestraHaven Says:

    Serving sizes are a joke. When they say “serves 3-4” that means that the portion size is the size of a NORMAL portion, not what we
    Americans have come to view as portion size. As one who has been battling weight for at least 2 decades, I have finally gotten that idea through my head. These last 5 years I have been cutting down on my portion size. My Thomas had gastric bypass in 2000 and went from a size 55 pant to a size 36. He CAN’T eat a lot at any one time. So I have learned to eat the same size portion he does. Suddenly, that 3-4 serving size does fit. Sadly enough, I haven’t lost much weight (a few pounds but nothing to write about). A pound of meat, now, in my house will make 4 meals easily. Just some food for thought (pun intended) 😀

  2. Liz Says:

    yeah but I’m eating for two 🙂

  3. MaestraHaven Says:

    LOL. there is that!


Comments are closed.