Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

12/24/07 A tree and some insomnia December 24, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 3:34 am

We finally got a tree yesterday afternoon! Hooray! Thomas and the boys got it while Christopher was napping and we got the lights on and most of the decorations (that I was going to use) on it before he woke up. So he woke up to this wonderful surprise! He’s been enjoying the tree at daycare so I was really excited to see his reaction at home. He loves the ornaments. I put the soft ones on the lower half of the tree and some (only some) of the breakable ones at the top. I only put about 2/3rd of the ornaments up because I knew they’d probably just come crashing down.

Oh, it’s 3:30am right now and I am wide awake.

I also got my Christmas present a little early yesterday. It’s a Nikon D40x camera and it ROCKS!!! My old Olympus that I’ve had for about 7 years is giving up the ghost. It keeps eating memory cards, which is a bummer when there are pictures on them that you want. So I got my present early so I could have a camera to document this year’s festivities. I was able to take a picture of the tree (see above) and have it come out and not be blurry. Way cool! It’s light and fast too!

I think I’m going to go make Royal Icing for the sugar cookies. They didn’t turn out half bad using Alton Brown’s recipe.

[Later] Well it’s 4:15 now and the Royal Icing is done. That is some nasty stuff. I see why they use it to construct confectionary things. It’s like glue … very sweet glue! I also refilled the coffee bean canister. While I was out in the garage getting the coffee I found the bag of nuts so I dug out the nut bowl and cracker while I was at it. And here I sit in a house that is just too damn hot. Probably one of the reasons I can’t sleep …

