Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

01/11/08 My Pregnancy 33 weeks January 11, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 8:05 am

This week your baby weighs a little over 4 pounds (heft a pineapple) and has passed the 17-inch mark. She’s rapidly losing that wrinkled, alien look and her skeleton is hardening. The bones in her skull aren’t fused together, which allows them to move and slightly overlap, thus making it easier for her to fit through the birth canal. These bones don’t entirely fuse until early adulthood, so they can grow as her brain and other tissue expands during infancy and childhood.

A 4lb pineapple??? Well a week ago they estimated that she was 4lbs 12ozs, overweight because of the gestational diabetes. I’ll know if she’s stablized weight-wise on the 21st.

And I only have 6 weeks to go!!! I know 40 – 33 = 7 but I will be delivering at week 39.

 

5 Responses to “01/11/08 My Pregnancy 33 weeks”

  1. Julie Says:

    Are you having a C-Section? How do you know you’ll be delivering at week 39?

  2. Liz Says:

    Unless there is a problem I will be pushing Sarah out the old fashioned way. My doctor said she would be born at week 39. They have drugs for these things. That’s how Christopher was born. We’re taking it week by week. I have an appointment in about an hour.

  3. MaestraHaven Says:

    Why is 39 the magical number? Why not go the whole 40 weeks? Do you expect her to gain 3 or so lbs between now and then? The whole baby making things is fascinating to me. The raising part has WAY less interest for me these day…but there are times when I still wish I could grow a baby inside of me. I have been intrigued by human reproduction since I was a child. I mean, how does the body know when to stop making an arm and start making a hand, and when to stop making a hand and to start making fingers, and then..w.ell, when to stop making the fingers! You know what I mean.

  4. Julie Says:

    I have the same question – why 39 weeks? I didn’t recall that you had labour artificially started with Christopher. I think I went 41 weeks with the first and 39 w/the second…so I averaged 40!

  5. Liz Says:

    I have high blood pressure and the last couple of weeks before Christopher was born it was starting to get out of control. Remember I’m older (they call it of advanced maternal age) and have health issues šŸ™‚ It is quite possible that if the diabetes goes out of control (which it isn’t, it’s doing ok) that I will deliver even earlier.

    Lori – it’s all in the DNA šŸ™‚


Comments are closed.