Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

01/30/08 Sustainability, buying local, and more … January 30, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 5:53 pm

If you haven’t checked out the movie attached to my blast, you really should. It’s a great 20 minute production on where stuff comes from and where it goes. Click here to see it. It brings up a lot of conflict for me. Convenience vs. buying local and buying local vs. a global economy. I don’t know how to reconcile all of this in my head. The grocery store (more specifically Wal-Mart) is a very convenient place to shop however a lot, if not all, of the food there comes from very far away. Buying local entails going to the Farmer’s Market that is only open for a certain number of hours and one of them has no parking. Also in January who knows if it is even running. Then there’s the buying local or supporting the global economy. We can’t just be separatists and say to hell with the rest of the world. One of the ways I read about to stop such rampant immigration (ie illegal) is to improve the economies in other countries. To do this we need to buy their goods and/or services. This means we have to spend fuel to get those goods here. It’s a whole brain pretzel and I don’t know what is right.

In other news, I am now Bob the Builder because Christopher just put his Bob the Builder hat on me. Also, my doctor’s appointment yesterday went fine. Sarah’s heartbeat is fine and so is my blood pressure. I have another appointment on Friday morning.

 

One Response to “01/30/08 Sustainability, buying local, and more …”

  1. Julie Says:

    “Brain Pretzel”…I LOVE it!


Comments are closed.