Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

02/14/08 Envelopes and 2ozs February 14, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 11:14 am

Well I found the envelopes I needed for the Christmas cards. They were hiding in plain sight. Sigh … Now I need a 4 x 6 envelope. Anyone know where they are in this office???

I am producing a whopping 2 ounces of milk per day. Woohoo! Oy! It’s a good thing Sarah is on formula or she’d be starving like Christopher was by this age. While I applaud the nurses for encouraging me to continue to try to breast feed, had I been them I would have also suggested supplementing Christopher with formula. It would have saved both of us a LOT OF F*CKING GRIEF!!! Not that I have an opinion on the matter or anything. Sarah is a much happier baby who sleeps when she is supposed to because she has a full tummy. She gets as much milk as mommy will produce and then gets the rest from formula.

Sarah’s biliruben count is down and we go in for her to give more blood on Friday. Her weight has also bounced back and is now on the upswing and this is great! Sarah should be off of that funny biliruben “blanket” this weekend.

I seem to be doing better than most people expect. Two friends who had c-sections said that I am doing better than they were at the point they saw me. I walked one to the NICU the day after the surgery and she was amazed that I was walking that well. Well I felt a hell of a lot better than I felt on the day of the surgery, that’s for sure! Besides I was on percoset! Then another friend visited me at home on Monday and she was really amazed. I don’t know if it’s me or them but I don’t feel all that bad. It’s hard to sneeze, cough, laugh and blow my nose and I get tired faster but if I pace myself it all seems to work out.

Oh, and Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

 

8 Responses to “02/14/08 Envelopes and 2ozs”

  1. MaestraHaven Says:

    YOu are doing fine. I was going up and down stairs within 4 day so my surgery, which amazed everyone. Just don’t go vacuuming, you can really hurt yourself doing that. And do take it easy. Rest when you can…easy to say when *I* don’t have a newborn around.

  2. Liz Says:

    I don’t vacuum 🙂 I am doing ok on the sleeping thing. I get about an hour and a half about 4 times and that’s about what I was getting when I was pregnant so it seems to work out. Now if I could only be released to drive!

  3. Julie E Says:

    I’m glad you’re ok with both formula and breast feeding. I struggled to feed Mike for about a month. We were both much happier when I stopped pumping and started supplementing with formula. He nursed and slept better. Good for you for figuring it out the first week!

    She’s beautiful and already one week old! Keep pacing yourself and enjoy your little girl.

  4. Mary H Says:

    Sounds like you are doing well, Liz. I was moving around pretty quickly after my c-section too. Just don’t rush things. If anything hurts or tires you, stop. It’s good to hear that Sarah is sleeping well. That really helps the whole household. Helena was fussy but my other two slept well almost from the beginning.

    I think your insomnia is catching!

  5. Liz Says:

    Julie, I figured it out the first week with the 2nd child because I had something to compare it to from child #1. It also helped that they started feeding her from day 1 in the NICU. If she hadn’t gone there I might have had smiliar issues with her as with Christopher.

    Mary, I am good at stopping if tired or sore. Besides this weekend we have teenage helpers who are enamoured with their sister 🙂 Oh, and insomnia is not contagious LOL!

  6. Mary H Says:

    If insomnia is not contagious, how come I have been waking up for an hour or two in the middle of night? It started right after I saw you on your birthday.

  7. Liz Says:

    Well Mary, if you’re up then come on over! Sarah is usually awake from about 2 – 5am now. It is not making for a restful night for Thomas because at some point her crying wakes him up and he can’t go back to sleep.

  8. Julie Says:

    Hey Liz, Glad to hear you & Sarah are doing so well! Keep up the good work 🙂
    Are parents supposed to have a restful night when there’s a newborn in the house???


Comments are closed.