Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

02/20/08 The end … what does that mean? February 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 9:58 am

Well, right after I typed “The end” in the title, Sarah woke up. Now it’s the 21st and I can’t remember what I was going to title this post. Hell, I don’t even remember what I was going to say.

News – Sarah is now off the biliruben blanket. Her count is still high for an infant, but it’s low enough that she will process it out on her own. I am cleared to drive but not lift more than 10 – 15 lbs.

Mary came over the day before yesterday and she set up Christopher’s iMac. He loved playing on it with her. I tried to get him to push the “glowing button” last night so he could play with it and he was afraid of it. Since I was feeding Sarah I couldn’t play on it with him. Maybe tonight, since his brothers are here.

Today is Sarah’s 2 week birthday! And it’s not even her due date yet! I had to update my babycenter.com profile to say that she was born so I would quit getting pregnancy updates. Finally in week 38 they gave up the food comparison!

Sarah has decided that she doesn’t want to sleep from midnight to 3am. That’s a long time to be awake in the middle of the night, for either an infant or a mommy. It was easier for me to deal with last night because I was able to sleep from 8 – 10:30pm. So I had a head start on sleep, got an hour from 3 – 4am, then got more from 5 – 8am (interrupted, but still sleep). I feel tired today, but not so mental.

Micah has to pick his small learning group for high school and they are having a Curriculum Night tonight at the high school to explain all of the groups to the kids. You’d think having an older brother who just went through high school that he would have an inkling about the SLC’s, but no he is oblivious. I am betting he chooses Science or Technology (I can’t remember if they’re one or two separate groups). We’ll see.

 

6 Responses to “02/20/08 The end … what does that mean?”

  1. Rhonda H Says:

    wow can’t believe she is already 2 weeks old!

    That small learning group thing sounds interesting — you will have to tell me about it more when I come visit!

  2. Liz Says:

    I can’t believe 2 weeks have gone by either! She’s already sleeping less than she did a week ago. I hope she does the day/night flip soon so she’ll start sleeping more at night!!!

  3. Julie Says:

    Happy 2 weeks Sarah!

    Rebecca’s high school has “academies”. She can choose, for example, to be in an “Engineering Academy”. I don’t know if the classes are smaller or not, but the content supposedly is affected by the theme of the academy. The problem is that honors/AP classes appear to exclude you from an academy. I dumbed out & missed the curriculum night!!

    The End – I know it’s a Beatles song: And in the end, the love you take is equal to the love…you make 🙂

  4. Liz Says:

    Rebecca’s “academies” sound just like the boy’s Small Learning Communities. But their high school will allow you to combine AP/honours classes with your SLC curriculum.

    We’ll see what Micah chooses now that he knows his options.

    Great quote Julie! I love it!!!

  5. Mary H Says:

    It was interesting to see how Christopher used the computer. By the time I left, he had the idea of click and drag to draw lines and click on let go to stamp. Even though he could do it by himself, he wanted “you do it.” So I put my hand over his, but let him do the work.

    It reminded me of teaching someone to ride a bike. You hold onto the back wheel and help them balance and eventually you are just holding your hand over the wheel and they are riding by themselves without knowing it.

    Instead of the glowing button, see if he can find the biggest key (shape) on the keyboard. When he points to the spacebar, see if he will push it. The computer will wake up and he will see the screen. Hmm, maybe he would like have his picture as his desktop background. That would be quite a surprise for him. We could even set it up so that it changes pictures regularly. One time it could be a picture of him; the next it could be Micah, etc.

    (BTW, I posted in my Technology blog about the problems I had installing Kid Pix.
    http://blogs.4j.lane.edu/hochberg_m )

    It was great getting to hold Sarah! Her hair is so thick, her hands so tiny, and she slept so quietly. I can’t wait to hold her again.

  6. Liz Says:

    Micah and Christopher had a good time playing with the computer on Thursday. Micah had KidPix at Twin Oaks so he knew what to do. When I played with him, we used the rubber stamp a lot. Then another time we used the marker.

    He just asked to push the button so I told him it was ok. He was very excited that he did it himself!

    Sarah loves to be held. Unfortunately I can’t do it for very long. I can’t wait for her to flip day and night so she’ll sleep more at night Thomas is sleeping now (it’s almost 10am) because he was awake at 3am.


Comments are closed.