Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

02/28/08 Three Weeks Old! February 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 1:06 pm

Sarah had her 2 week well-baby visit a week late (she’s 3 weeks old today) and here are her stats:
Height – 22 inches (up 1.5 inches)
Weight – 9 lbs 3 ozs (up 1 lb 2 ozs from birth)
[edit] Thomas wanted me to add that she’s in the 90th percentile for height and 50th percentile for weight.
The doctor is thrilled with her progress and doesn’t need to see her until she’s 2 months old.
I, on the other hand, have a bladder infection. I don’t know how I got that. I tried cranberry juice (the real stuff too) and it helped but it didn’t go away. So now I get to have antibiotics for 5 days. And to stem the tide of post partum depression (for those of you who don’t know, I had it with Christopher), I got happy pills also. It’s only for a few months until my hormones get back into alignment. I am lucky that I have a doctor who really listens to me. I can’t believe I just picked her from a list after I moved up here and she turned out to be so great!
Tomorrow is Leap Day. I think it’s my aunt’s birthday too. I think she’s 86 today or tomorrow. I come from a family where the women sure do last a long time! The men not so much though.
Since only one of you lives here in Eugene, the rest of you don’t know what a lovely day it is outside. I didn’t really want to come home. I could have driven around in the sun all afternoon. Sarah wouldn’t be too keen on it though. She is going to want to eat soon. It’s amazing how well she naps during the day!
 

5 Responses to “02/28/08 Three Weeks Old!”

  1. Rhonda H Says:

    Wow three weeks already!
    bummer about the bladder… goodie on the happy pills (what kind? maybe I need some too lol)
    Lovely day here in Calif today too, finally!

  2. Liz Says:

    Well our lovely day was only about 60 degrees. My SIL e-mailed me and said it was 84 in Lower Lake.

  3. Mary H Says:

    The sunshine between bouts of hail today was wonderful! I see early spring flowers everywhere: daffodils, crocuses, camellias, even a very early rhodie. Thank goodness for the sunshine, though. I am wiped out and it cheered me up. Writer’s group on Monday, client after work on Tuesday, worked late Wednesday, Copes group Thursday (12 pounds lost!, and I taught the pop-up book class today.

    Liz, thanks so much for posting another picture of Sarah. I can’t wait to hold her again. How is Christopher doing with the computer? With Sarah?

    I am glad that you are taking care of yourself and being proactive about your needs. The Copes class about self-advocacy and the medical system. We really do have to know what is best for us and let them know what we need.

  4. Julie Says:

    I agree – thanks for the new photo – keep posting them! I *wish* I could hold her too 😦
    Good luck with the bladder and the happy pills. The weather here has been gorgeous. I’m definitely ready for Spring. We have daffodils all over the place. It’s so nice to see some color in the yards.

  5. Liz Says:

    I wish our bulbs were blooming! We just have the sprouts right now. I think because we face north, ours just bloom a little later.

    Christopher has been playing with the computer mostly with either Micah or me. He will only turn it on and off by himself.

    Having had PPD with Christopher, my doctor and I were very proactive with treatment. Best to nip it in the bud early than let it progress to how I felt in 2005.


Comments are closed.