Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

06/17/08-B And another thing … June 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 6:44 pm

I am trying to eliminate High Fructose Corn Syrup (HFCS) from the foods in this house (and there by from my diet). I am becoming an avid label reader. Safeway breads have HFCS. Ketchup does too. I went to the Heinz and Hunts websites and told them that I am no longer buying their products because of this. What do you want to bet that they will not reply with “hey we’re taking it out” but with coupons to buy their products?!? Safeway Organic ketchup does not have HFCS so I bought a bottle.

 

5 Responses to “06/17/08-B And another thing …”

  1. MaestraHaven Says:

    This isn’t difficult, but it means making a lot of your own products. Thom and I have begun to do things like make our own salad dressings, and I have been making bread lately, trying to find a yeast free one that isn’t hellaciously expensive.

    Good luck!

  2. Julie Says:

    Good for you Liz! I decided to follow your lead. I have been checking labels for “Partially hydrogenated oils” for quite some time, but not high fructose corn syrup. Today I looked and of course the wheat bread I buy has it. You know, I started checking “better” wheat breads and most of them have it too! Then I went to buy some granola and Safeway’s “healthy” granola has…yep, HFCS! Again, it took me a while to find one that didn’t have it. The bread is going to be tough. The girls have NEVER liked good wheat bread, I’ve just been happy that they eat don’t eat white.

  3. Liz Says:

    Laura – I usually make my own salad dressing because I like a higher vinegar to oil ratio. Thomas & the boys have those creamy icky dressings. I haven’t checked those labels yet.
    Julie – Doesn’t is just freak you out?!? HFCS is in EVERYTHING! Some Oroweat breads don’t have HFCS. I get a couple of the multi-grain varieties. Kashi cereals don’t have HFCS and you can get big boxes at Costco. I like Kashi’s Go-Lean (granola-ish) and Autumn Wheat (sort of like mini-wheats but better).

  4. Liz Says:

    Laura?!? Sheesh … sorry Lori. I’d just e-mailed my friend Laura and had her name on my brain. Sorry …

  5. Julie Says:

    What also makes me mad about the HFCS is that everything has gotten so expensive & I really try to keep food costs down as much as possible. Naturally, when you try to avoid HFCS or PH oils…it’s more expensive!!! It can be significantly more expensive. I can get super cheap pretzels at Safeway that have PH oils – I always pay more for the brand that doesn’t.


Comments are closed.