Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

06/23/08 Your gas is square June 23, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 11:01 am

Christopher said this while he was getting in the car this morning. It took me a minute to figure out that he meant that the door to the gas tank on my car is square. I asked him if daddy’s gas is round and he said yes. He is either very observant or just says yes to everything. I think it’s a little of both. But more importantly how did he know that was where the gas goes in? We don’t pump our own gas here in Oregon so we stay in the car. And he is not normally with me when I fill up my car. Sometimes he is scary smart. I told someone the other day that he will either blow us up when he is a teenager or invent something miraculous.

 

6 Responses to “06/23/08 Your gas is square”

  1. Julie Says:

    You don’t pump your own gas??? My mom should move there πŸ™‚

    Someone told him that’s where the gas goes, or he saw someone else’s tank being filled, or he saw it in a movie (e.g. Cars). That’s certainly not intuitive knowledge & would definitely be “scary” smart!

  2. Liz Says:

    It’s Oregon law that there has to be an attendant to pump the gas. I guess it guarantees a certain job class. It is nice though πŸ™‚

  3. MaestraHaven Says:

    I remember driving through Oregon and experiencing that luxury of having someone pump the gas. It was so funny to me. My mom had culture shock, moving to Ca from NY 9 years ago (can you believe it as been that long??) In NY, she never pumped her own gas…always had an attendant doing it, even if it meant paying more. Now she is an expert at it. Old dogs can learn new tricks! πŸ˜€

  4. Liz Says:

    Before my mom moved up here she would pay premium prices to have someone else pump her gas. Well, actually she pays premium prices because she insists on buying her gas at Union 76. We buy it at Costco and save $$$!!!

  5. Rhonda H Says:

    When I was in Oregon to see you and had to get gas I realized I had no idea which side the gas was on and so of course drove up the wrong way… well for me here in Calif I would just pump it anyway as most of the lines are long enough to go over or around the car but the guy made me go to a different pump! I almost wanted to jump out and show him how to do it!

  6. Liz Says:

    At Costco it doesn’t matter what side the gas is on because they have hoses long enough. It really irks me that other stations do not have the same, or if they do they won’t stretch the hoses.


Comments are closed.