Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

06/27/08-B So Many Questions I Didn’t Know I Had! June 27, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 2:06 pm

I’ve been doing some research on what preschools are in my area and that brought me to the Savvy Source website I linked to the other day. Apparently they are selling an e-book that answers questions I didn’t know I had!!!

  • Montessori? Waldorf? Play-based? What do each of these school types mean?
  • What school type is right for my child and does it matter?
  • What is the right age to start preschool? Two? Three? Four?
  • What does the research say about school types?
  • How can I tell if the quality of teaching is high?
  • What kinds of questions should I ask on a school tour?
  • How does my child learn (vs. another) and what kind of school type I should be looking for given his learning style?
  • What are tried and true tips on how to secure a slot for my child?
  • How can I tell if a school “matches” my parenting style and family values?

How do mere mortals make the right choice??? Gah!!! This is starting to stress me out more than I like!!!

 

8 Responses to “06/27/08-B So Many Questions I Didn’t Know I Had!”

  1. MaestraHaven Says:

    Don’t get stressed. This is for those Palo Alto competitive types who are more interested in what they tell their Bridge club ladies than in what is really right for their child. As far as Pre-school goes, find one that looks at the children as individuals and is willing to treat them as such. Also see if the environment is clean and orderly and smells right. YOu have plenty of friends who could answer your questions without a book and without stress.

  2. Julie E Says:

    Try not to stress about it. You are starting to think and research really early. As long as you check out a few schools, and FEEL COMFORTABLE, you and Christopher will be fine. When you do go to observe, find out if Christopher can come too. Some schools only want parents to see what’s going on – in my opinion, you should let Christopher have some say. Do the other children welcome him? Is he interested in the materials that are out? Is there a wide assortment of things to choose from? You have lots of time, and will make an informed and therefore good decision.

  3. Liz Says:

    I was reading the literature for the preschool closest to us and geez they are um … not regimented, but very “specific” about how they handle things. I only read the brochure because it was the only school that had anything on-line. I don’t want him to go there because it is a little too “Christian” for me. They even have to go to chapel on Wednesdays. I think I’d rather him go to the Catholic pre-school because at least is the same “variety” of Christian that he is being brought up. I checked out Savvy Source to find schools near me but they only had pricing, not anything about the schools. And the schools themselves don’t have websites. I think my next step is to figure out the difference between Montessori, Waldorf (salad, right?), and traditional.

  4. Liz Says:

    And dang they’re expensive!!! I just looked at the Waldorf School and it’s about twice what we pay for daycare. It’s over $5000 for 4 hours a day for the school year!!!

  5. Julie E Says:

    I don’t know anything about Waldorf, but I found this link from my ECE teacher about Montessori and Piaget. http://www.thelearningweb.net/chapter07/page264.html It will give you an idea of Maria Montessori’s ideas compared to Jean Piaget’s theories.

    I have lots of info about Montessori if you want more, but that link offers a snapshot.

  6. Julie Says:

    Liz, I can answer ALL of these questions for you and I’ll do it for free 🙂
    And yes, Waldorf schools are VERY expensive. I just got back from camping/Twain Harte, and I’ll be busy getting ready for the 4th, so I won’t be quick with answers….but I do have them. And everyone here has given good advice too.

  7. Liz Says:

    I read the link that Julie E posted and decided that I do not like the Waldorf method. I am sort of medium on the Montessori method. Thomas does not particularly like the Montessori method because it did not serve Micah well. It could also be that he didn’t go to a true Montessori school it was only Montessori-like.

    No hurry on the answers though … Christopher isn’t potty trained and we don’t plan to put him in preschool for over a year 🙂 But you know me … gotta get organised now!


Comments are closed.