Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

07/15/08 Dinner, Thank You, and more Rice Cereal July 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 11:43 am

I made farfalle with zucchini from The Pioneer Woman Cooks. Naturally I didn’t have everything to make it exactly the way she did. I had to substitute mushrooms for grape tomatoes; flat champagne for white wine; corn starch for arrowroot; added pesto with the cream (that’s half and half, right?) and didn’t put in fresh basil but I had lemon thyme. Even with all of those changes it was still REALLY REALLY GOOD! And I threw it together in about a half an hour. Very cool! I could make a zillion variations on this … or just make it the same and have it always be delicious.

I was going to blog about this next thing over the weekend but I forgot. Last Friday my mom and I had lunch. We have lunch every week, so that’s nothing new. The nice part was this … I was holding the door open at Shari’s (the restaurant) waiting for mom to get there from her car. She’s not walking as fast because her knee is all screwed up. She’ll be getting that part replaced next month. While I was holding the door open a woman and her two daughters entered Shari’s. Then mom and I followed. The woman told her daughters to let us go ahead of them because we’d actually gotten there first. I was awed, stunned, gobsmacked! Fortunately that only took a split second and I had the where-with-all to turn, smile and say “thank you”. There wasn’t a line and we ended up sitting at tables next to one another. But still, it was a very nice thing to do. So to the lady and her two girls who were at Shari’s in Springfield on Friday, a very heartfelt thank you again!

Sarah had some more rice cereal last night. This time she seemed to want it and sort of slurped it off of the spoon. All-in-all she had another quarter teaspoon. Maybe next week we’ll try a vegetable.

 

2 Responses to “07/15/08 Dinner, Thank You, and more Rice Cereal”

  1. Julie Says:

    Thanks for the link to the recipe! Of course *I* will have to add protein somehow…

  2. Liz Says:

    It would be delicious with chicken but any chicken I have is frozen. I didn’t get home until after 6:30 and was lucky to get this made.


Comments are closed.