Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

07/17/08 Thursday, just one more day to go July 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 4:00 pm

I can take a huge sigh of relief. Month-end is done and I did my financial presentation yesterday. Now I can do other things than just race to get month-end done. However on August 11th the race begins again. At least it’s something you can plan for.

This weekend is Davinci Days in Corvallis. I’ve wanted to go since I moved up here but I hate going to things where you have to park a bazillion miles away and walk in the heat to get somewhere to sit in the heat. It’s also Bohemia Mining Days in Cottage Grove. That looks like it would be fun too. And it’s closer. Probably still hot though.

Sunday is Christopher’s birthday. Safeway has a Thomas the Tank Engine birthday cake that my MIL just told me about. Well she told me about it over a month ago but she reminded me today because clearly I’d forgotten. I have enough trouble remembering yesterday let alone a month ago. Naturally it’s not something you can order from the Safeway website. You can’t do much on their website. I think we’re just going to have a picnic on Sunday with the family. I was hoping my SIL was coming but no such luck. I never got it together to invite any of Christopher’s daycare buddies. For the most part I hate planning parties. I think the only one I like is Christmas Eve because I have a plan and it remains fairly static from year to year. A kid’s birthday party is a logistics issue. I am not good with logistics. And Thomas is Mr. Last Minute and that doesn’t work with logistics either. Fortunately Christopher isn’t old enough to know that he should have friends at a birthday party. Next year I probably won’t be so lucky.

 

6 Responses to “07/17/08 Thursday, just one more day to go”

  1. Julie Says:

    No, you won’t always be so lucky!! You’ve got YEARS of parties ahead of you. I hate to tell you but this year (w/12 & 15 year olds) was the first year I didn’t have to plan too much for the girls’ parties – just had to deal with tons of kids…).

  2. Mary H Says:

    Boy, does all this sound familiar! I remember the days of kid’s parties, work deadlines, and not much time or energy for anything else, let alone “me time.”

    As for birthday parties, being me, I actually wrote a book on the subject. Well, outlined a book and wrote a couple of chapters. It was called “Parting from 1 to 10” and dealt with parties for ages 1-10 along with information on home, school, and location parties and one chapter on post-party blues and sibling sadness.

    PS: At the Classic Star Trek meeting last night we watched “Methuselah” and “The Changeling.” Next meeting, we will watch a movie, “Forbidden Planet,” which Roddenberry called the first Star Trek episode and has the same Shakespeare’s Tempest theme as “Methuselah.” The following meeting will be “Star Trek the Movie” which reprises the same theme as “The Changeling.”

    Those will be the last meetings until September. It was the first time I went and I really enjoyed it.

  3. Julie Says:

    Mary, you should publish your book! I do remember consulting some sort of party book when my kids were little – I forget the title… If I remember it I will send it to you Liz 🙂 Or Mary can send you hers!

  4. Liz Says:

    Oh Christopher will probably have post-party blues. He thinks the world is his party!

    Mary – I didn’t really care for the first movie that much. The odd numbered movies weren’t as good as the even numbered ones for some strange reason.

  5. Liz Says:

    Oh … I forgot this … Julie – with our teenagers it’s just a matter of buying food and drink then staying out of the way 🙂

  6. Julie Says:

    Same here Liz!
    Happy Birthday Christopher! Oops, it’s after midnight, so it’s one day late…sorry!


Comments are closed.