Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

07/21/08 And then he was three … July 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 4:32 am

Doncha just love being awake at 4am? Gah! For the last week Sarah’s thing has been to wake up at about 3:30. She just lays there, talks, and blows raspberries. Eventually she starts fussing a little and after a couple of attempts at putting in her binky she goes to sleep about 20 minutes later. In the mean time I wake up and am awake for a while. So here I am being awake for a while.

In hindsight I am sort of glad that no other kids came to Christopher’s birthday. It was sort of overwhelming for him. After he got up we let him open presents from us, Honey & Poppy, and my sister (we saved the art easel and paper for a birthday pressie). He loved everything and wanted to play with it all. I found some Thomas the Tank Engine trains, cars, track, and conductor’s shed on e-bay. Since the set of trains we got over a year ago (the Interactive Railway) at a garage sale is no longer being made we either have to buy new Wooden Railway stuff (crap in my opinion) or find stuff on e-bay. Damn and those e-bay bidders are ruthless too!

His “party” was pretty simple. We went to a park, fed people sandwiches, and had cake. He played in the sand and on the play equipment for a lot of the time. There is also a wading pool and we eventually got him to put his hands in the water. Jonah uploaded some pictures of the event to his Facebook account. At about 1:30 he started asking to go home. I think he was just exhausted from all of the excitement of the day!

In other news … we are 2/3rds of the way through season 3 of Weeds. Man that is a funny show! We don’t get Showtime, so we have to wait until it’s out on dvd to watch it. But the nice thing about that is we can see it all in a few days! The episodes are only 30 minutes long so you’re just really getting into an episode and it ends.

Happy Monday everyone!

 

3 Responses to “07/21/08 And then he was three …”

  1. Julie Says:

    Jonah got some great shots at the party! It looks like a wonderful park – is that near your home? Is Cierra your niece? I love photo 26- Cierra got a shirt and you are looking at it like it’s the most hideous thing you’ve ever seen…hahaha.

    I only like being awake at 4 a.m. if I haven’t gone to bed yet! I was up ’til 3:00 a.m. relishing my last evening alone.

  2. Liz Says:

    The park is not *near* our house but it’s only 15 minutes away. We don’t have any parks in our neighborhood 😦 There is the playground/tennis court/skate park between the middle school and the high school. But it doesn’t have any picnic area or shady area or a pool.

    Cierra is my niece. She is Paula’s foster daughter, soon to be adopted daughter I think. I don’t know why I had that look on my face. Cierra was opening the present I picked out for her. Maybe it was just an odd moment.

    I *never* like being awake at 4am 🙂

  3. Julie E Says:

    Sounds like a fun day. I’m glad you didn’t go out of your way to do something “big”. He’s still to little to remember it anyway. And, if you’re anything like me, you don’t want all those “extra” toys/gifts at your house either.

    Bob and Mike still want the Thomas the Tank Engine stuff. We have tons of it sitting in a closet Hopefully, moving it here wasn’t a waste and it will get played with again.


Comments are closed.