Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

07/28/08 Measurements and stuff about a 3 year old July 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 11:36 am

Christopher had his 3 year check up on Thursday. I am not so melodramatic to say that it was just yesterday that he had his 3 week checkup but it sure doesn’t seem like 3 years! At 3 years he weights 36lbs and is 40 1/4 inches tall. That’s 75th percentile for weight and 95th percentile for height. He knows his colours, shapes, and letters by sight and can also count up to 20 – sometimes. He likes the number 13 and usually stops there because … he’s bored? likes 13? Dunno. He is, however, not potty trained. This is the only thing keeping him from preschool in September. Oh, well there’s the money thing too but that’s another story. I wonder if preschool does nap time? He also take at least a 2 hour nap every day. Yesterday he took a 3 hour nap. He is a nap taking boy! Speaking of taking, the Mimi Fairy took his binky on Monday. I do not know where he got the name, but for some reason he calls his binky a ‘mimi’. The Mimi Fairy left him a nice card and a pair of Thomas the Tank Engine pajamas. What a cool fairy! Bed and nap times are now more horrific because of this. He is even more whiny and even cries after he is in bed. He does not realise that he wants his binky, he just knows that he is unhappy. His binky provided some level of comfort and he still needs that, in my opinion. So I read to him and rub his back and leave my boy to wimper in bed. It really breaks my heart, especially when a stupid piece of silicone would make him more comfortable and happy.

 

4 Responses to “07/28/08 Measurements and stuff about a 3 year old”

  1. Julie Says:

    If it makes you feel any better those three years flew by for me too!

    You are doing the right thing with the binky. Our “fairy” took the girls’ away at about one year old. The sucking desire should diminish over time, really after about a year the binky is not developmentally appropriate and will simply cause other problems (e.g. teeth issues, more difficult to give up, etc.). He will be fine. Of course you want him to be happy, but his happiness can’t always be the goal. There are a lot of spoiled children out there with well meaning parents who always want their kid to be “happy”. And how cool, he got Thomas p.j.s!!!

  2. Liz Says:

    In hindsight I think I made a mistake always tethering the binky to his blankie. The entire thing was his “mimi”. I think with Sarah I’d rather buy more binkys, lose a few if I have to, and let her keep a “lovey” separately.

  3. Julie Says:

    That’s interesting – I didn’t realise the binky was part of the blanket to him. We had many “plugs” as we called them, so that one was always handy. There are always “windows of opportunity” that both open and close – w/toilet training, binky taking, whatever. For me it was easier to take it away at a year. The kids fussed a little, but it was mostly an open window!

  4. Julie E Says:

    I have to say, I was always grateful neither of my kids had a binky. When Mike was newborn and in intensive care, the nurses gave him one. When he came home, we thought he was “supposed to have one”, so we kept pushing it back in, but he didn’t like it. We gave up after a week or two. Alison never had a binky.

    Mike has a stuffed monkey he still sleeps with, Alison just has a whole zoo on her bed, but no special animal. Oh well, everyone is different.


Comments are closed.