Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

08/09/08 And then she was six August 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 2:51 pm

Six months that is. On Thursday Sarah turned six months old! She didn’t seem overly fazed by it. On Friday we took her in for her six month check up. Dr. E. says she’s a happy healthy, albeit big, baby. Here are her stats:

Height: 27 1/4 inches – 92nd percentile

Weight: 22lbs 6ozs – off the chart if taken alone; 99th percentile with height factored in

Head Circumference: 18 1/4 inches – 99th percentile

Both of my kids have fat heads and Sarahs is fatter than Christopher’s as I recall.

I just checked my blog archives (I started this blog over 2 1/2 years ago!) and here are Christopher’s stats for his 6 month checkup … 19lbs 4ozs and 27″ tall. He’s at the 75th percentile for height, weight, and head circumference.

So Sarah is more than 3 pounds heavier and a quarter inch taller! Holy Cow!

Thomas is currently at the small airport in Weed, CA waiting for Micah to show up. Micah has spent the past week in Redwood Valley with friends of Thomas’. The husband is a doctor and has a small plane. The plane is the whole reason Micah wanted to visit them again. When we were there a year ago Memorial Day, he got to ride in the plane. This one thing made Micah clean his room (and it was a sh*t hole too!) just so he could go. Since it’ll take them about 5 hours to get home, I am hoping that Micah arrives there soon! (it’s 2:45 pm now)

Part of me hopes that they stop at Harry & David’s in Medford to get me a treat. Harry & David’s has such cool food stuff, besides the fruit that they are known for. We (meaning me) love stopping there for a potty and shopping break. They usually have something cool on sale and they also have a really yummy selection of fruit.

Most of all I just want them to arrive home safe 🙂

 

9 Responses to “08/09/08 And then she was six”

  1. Rhonda H Says:

    Wow she is a big baby!!! But oh so cute 🙂
    Better get her jogging soon! LOL
    At least you will get some exercise carrying her around!

  2. Mary H Says:

    Yes, but Liz better be careful about her own body when hauling about big babies! This is the voice of experience here. Picking up David led to wrenched shoulders, muscle spasms, and other unpleasantness, including a root canal (Don’t let those big heads hit you in the jaw).
    BTW, David is currently 6’1 3/4″ and wears a size 16EEEEE shoe.

    On a more pleasant note, I thought you might like this message I received today.
    ~~~~~
    From: Roger Bullard (rogabullard earthlink.net)
    Subject: Quotation

    “Tomatoes and oregano make it Italian; wine and tarragon make it French. Sour cream makes it Russian; lemon and cinnamon make it Greek. Soy sauce makes it Chinese; garlic makes it good.” -Alice May Brock, author (b. 1941)

    And high fructose corn syrup makes it American.
    ~~~~~

    There was an article in the newspaper’s business section this week about HFCS.
    http://www.registerguard.com/csp/cms/sites/dt.cms.support.viewStory.cls?cid=126457&sid=2&fid=1

  3. Liz Says:

    Oy! Mary – Thomas and I are already feeling the effects of a big baby! Thomas has a huge know in his shoulder blade and my upper back is spasm-ing tonight. I had Sarah all day because Thomas drove to CA to get Micah. Boy I can feel it!

    I love that quote! It is really grossing me out as to what foods have HFCS!

  4. Mary H Says:

    Those aches and pains sound familiar! I developed an oversize muscle in my shoulder blade and had to do physical therapy and exercise to reduce the size and calm the area. Alternating which side I used to pick up the baby helped too but boy, was I glad that both David and Carolyn (my other big baby, 9lbs, 3oz at birth) learned to walk early! I celebrated the day they could climb in and out of their car seat themselves.

    As for HFCS, my biggest complaint is “Why is there any kind of corn syrup in pasta sauce?!!!”

    It really does taste different. A bit of HCFS gives food a smoother taste. Great for fudge and other soft items. Terrible when you want a crisp, clean taste. Alton Brown had a great segment with Shirley about it. It’s basic chemistry.

  5. Liz Says:

    Christopher has been able to get in and out of his car seat in my car for about a year. He still needs help in Thomas’ truck sometimes because it is tall. There are days he feels like climbing days he doesn’t.

    Why is there corn syrup in pasta sauce, boboli pizza, bread, bbq sauce, mayonaise … the list goes on and on!!!

    I would love to see that Alton Brown episode. He is a little campy for me but I really love the science aspect of it. My favourite episode is the chocolate chip cookie one.

  6. Mary H Says:

    Ah, the joys of the Internet. I meant to just pop out, get the name of the episode where Shirley talked about sugar and corn syrup. Next thing I know, I’m putting my name on candy hearts, license plates, and Dynmo label strips.

    It started by finding out Shirley’s last name (Corriher)with Wikipedia, then using IMDB to get her episodes, then wandering off to Google to get the right episode. Found http://www.goodeatsfanpage.com
    who has transcripts of episodes, complete with photos. Here’s the one I was thinking of:
    http://www.goodeatsfanpage.com/Season2/Sugar/SugarTranscript.htm

    What does all that have to do with candy hearts, etc? On his “about me” page, the fanpage site owner has jpgs with his name on candy hearts, license plates, etc, and gives the links to the Acme Maker site. I thought they would be fun to put them on scrapbook or webpages.

    And this is how I spent too much time on the computer!

    BYE!

  7. Liz Says:

    LOL! Mary – there should be a 12 step program for the internet! “Hello my name is Mary and I get lost on the internet”. 🙂

    Oh, Shirley is the food chemist, right?!? I liked her.

  8. Julie E Says:

    She sounds like a beautiful, healthy baby.
    When Mike was that age and size, I couldn’t have lived without the backpack. He wanted to be held, alot and I put him in it even around the house. Since he hated the stroller, I used the backpack at the grocery store, mall, doing dishes, vacuuming, etc.

  9. Julie Says:

    Wow! Veronica was still under 20 pounds (19.5) at 15 months old!
    I really like Alton Brown, despite the camp.


Comments are closed.