Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

10/09/08 Oh! What a cute date! :-) October 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 3:49 pm

Well that amused me … today’s date is 10/09/08 … they’re in reverse numerical order. Ok, so I am the only one on the planet it amuses … sigh.

The observant among you may have noticed that my background theme is different again … it’s weddings. No, I am not getting married, I am already married. But Thomas and I are having our 6th wedding anniversary on Sunday and I thought I’d redecorate for the occasion.

I had this really great blog post sort of composed in my head for Tuesday, but Tuesday got away from me and now it’s Thursday. It was going to be titled, “8 months and 4 weeks”. Sarah turned 8 months old on Tuesday! No, I didn’t get a picture of her and no, I didn’t weigh her either. But she did get a bath last night. We have to take our successes where ever we can find them.

The 4 weeks refers to the fact that 4 weeks from Tuesday is election day. In Oregon I think you have 5 more days to register so you can vote in the election. I have been registered to vote since I was 18 years old. I think it is important for everyone to vote. I think that Thomas and I have passed that along to Jonah (or I’d like to think it was us) and he is registered to vote. He won’t be 18 for about 2 more weeks, but he will be for the election. He is so excited to be able to vote in his first election and that his first election is a presidential election. I like seeing this excitement in a teenager! He wants to be a part of the process and he has some like-minded friends as well.

I am not a fan of October. It seems as if in the span of the last two weeks we have lost over an hour (or more) of daylight in the morning. It is now dark when I wake up and I don’t wake up all that early. The days are shorter, it’s raining, and blech. It is an effort to find the good in the day. I think it’s just the transition from summer to winter. I am mostly ok by the time November comes around. Maybe because we start planning the holiday events, or maybe I just get used to it. One of the good things I look for is the leaves on the trees. I just love the colours so I try to get my enjoyment from that when I am out and about.

 

4 Responses to “10/09/08 Oh! What a cute date! :-)”

  1. Julie Says:

    It’s raining?? It still feels like summer here. The first thing I do when I get home is change into my shorts! I love October myself – the leaves are changing colours & I like Halloween.

    Good for Jonah! I was quite a bit older than 18 when I registered to vote…I may have been married! Politics never interested me, but I agree now (older & wiser) that it’s important to vote.

    Any big plans for the anniversary? Six years already!! I was thinking how you’ve done so much in 6 years, & then I realised that within 6 years of being married I also earned a degree (post graduate-credential) and had 2 kids! Veronica was born just a couple of weeks before our 6th anniversary. Still, you HAVE done a lot in 6 years. Could you imagine even just 6.5 years ago that you’d be living in another state, married with a preschooler, a baby, 2 teenagers and a business degree???

  2. Liz Says:

    Yeah, rub it in Julie! 😉

    We are going to drop the two little kids off at the grandparents and head to the coast for our anniversary. Other than eating dinner at the same restaurant, I have not gotten to see Florence yet. Did I tell you that Florence was where Max spent that summer with his grandparents?!? Small world!

    We both did a lot in our first 6 years of marriage! Ever since I met Thomas I have not been able to imagine what my future would be like. Who knew we’d have *two* little ones?!? I wasn’t even sure if we’d get to the first one let alone the second.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    I don’t know really WHO it was, so I’ll let you take the credit… but I DO know the my excitement started literally the MOMENT I put together that a woman and a black man where running,and it was during the unit in History where we were discussing the Time in which Black men had just earned the right to vote, and women still did not.

    I spent a whole week thinking about MY vote in the historical context of what I was learning in class.

    You can imagine how disappointed I was to not vote in the primaries.

  4. MaestraHaven Says:

    I, also, have been registered to vote since I was 18, and have voted every time, even when I was in Europe (absentee ballots are beautiful things). I agree, it is important. I figure that I can’t complain about the system if I don’t contribute to it at least.

    Liz, as for the date…10/7 would have been my 24th wedding anniversary with Michael, and 10/10 would have been 27 years since we got together. Talk about TIME flying!!! Thom and I will be having our 6th anniversary next month of meeting, 5th of being Handfasted, and the 4th anniversary of us changing our names to Haven. This has been the BEST decade hasn’t it? 😀


Comments are closed.