Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

10/23/08 A day of minor importance October 23, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 11:07 am

Today is a day of nothing in particular, at least historically for me. My MIL is getting her ankle fused today and she should be in recovery right about now. Christopher and Sarah are at daycare, Micah is at school, Jonah is probably still sleeping (but has a class tonight), and Thomas is working on a work project for today. Provided she doesn’t bail on me again, I should be having lunch with my mother. The sun is out, but it isn’t warm.

I finally cooked my pumpkins last weekend! I bought 3 medium/smallish pumpkins when we went to Lone Pine Farms on the 11th. On Saturday I had Thomas cut the tops off and cut them in half. I scooped out the seeds (saving them for roasting of course!) and cut them into quarters. I baked them at 350 for about 45 minutes. That evening I pureed them in the food processor and then made crockpot pumpkin butter overnight. On Sunday morning it smelled so yummy in the kitchen! I couldn’t believe I found my canning supplies right where I needed them in the garage too! So on Sunday morning I canned my pumpkin butter. I LOVE canning stuff! It makes me feel so … um … historical! Like I’m doing something of value. I love growing vegetables for the same reason. I took pictures of my jars of pumpkin butter but I haven’t gotten them off of the camera.

On Saturday we ended up going back to Lone Pine farms so Micah could pick a pumpkin for carving. Our old real estate agent sends us a coupon for up to 20lbs worth of pumpkins free, so we only ended up paying for 3lbs worth of pumpkins. Nice! Unfortunately the pumpkins are still whole on the coffee table. I’ll be darned if I can remember what we did on Sunday.

