Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

11/05/08 One Victory One Defeat November 5, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 10:22 am

The Price Household is quite thrilled at the outcome of just about all of the election items we had to vote on. The Eugene Mayor’s race is still up in the air and I am not hopeful for the candidate we voted for. However our choices for president, US senator, secretary of state, and most of the state and local measures went our way. Our US Representative ran unopposed by the Republican party as did a couple of our local state reps. Naturally they won quite handily.

Even though I don’t live in California any more I still follow the politics and I am saddened by the following I read on MSNBC this morning:

“California voters have passed a constitutional amendment outlawing same-sex marriage, AP reported Wednesday.”

I guess equality only goes so far.

 

3 Responses to “11/05/08 One Victory One Defeat”

  1. Julie Says:

    I know – my excitement at Obama winning has been tempered by the defeat of Prop 8. I’ve been debating the issue vehemently at the Pleasanton Weekly newsite. I had a letter to the editor published in that periodical; a letter that supported the rights of gays to marry. Well, hopefully it will be found to be unconstitutional….again.

  2. Liz Says:

    One of the dad bloggers I read, Backpacking Dad, wrote a hopeful post about the lack of legality of Prop 8. Read it at http://backpackingdad.blogspot.com/2008/11/proposition-8-glimmer-glimpse-of-hope.html

  3. Mary H Says:

    Sounds like we voted for the same mayor, Liz. I saw lots of yards that had both Obama and Torrey signs.


Comments are closed.