Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

11/13/08 What’s for dinner? November 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 11:10 am

This is the questions that is asked with a lot of regularity in my house. You’d think with the amount of “I don’t know.” answers that they’d just give up. But no, as the mom dinner preparation is mostly my responsibility. Now that Jonah is in college and is taking a couple of night courses it is just Thomas and I for dinner. Christopher usually eats at daycare. Last night, however, the answer was different. I had a plan for dinner and it was thanks to the owner of the company I work for. He was telling me what he was planning to make for dinner. He does this periodically so it’s not unusual. But this time what he was telling me sounded DELICIOUS! And I had most of the ingredient. And it wasn’t complicated or time consuming.

All of the famous blogs post pictures when they post recipies. I had it together enough last night to photograph the ingredients and the final product. Cool huh? Here are the ingredients:

crimini mushrooms (sliced)
cream of mushroom soup (condensed)
garlic (minced)
shallot (minced)
bell pepper (fine dice)
rice (I used basmati)
white wine
scallops
olive oil
butter
milk (not pictured)

Start your rice. Saute shallots in olive oil. Add garlic. Cook for a minute. Add mushrooms. Cook most of the way then add bell pepper. Put soup in sauce pan and add about a quarter of a cup of milk to smooth it out. Heat on low to medium-low. When mushroom mix is done put it in with the soup. Melt a little butter over medium-high to high heat. Add scallops and a splash of wine. Get a good sear on the scallops and turn them over (gently!). Add another splash of wine. Sear the other side of the scallops. Serve up some rice. Generously put the soup/mushroom mixture over it and top with the scallops. Serve with a green vegetable and a glass of wine (neither of those pictured). And here is the final product:

 

3 Responses to “11/13/08 What’s for dinner?”

  1. Julie Says:

    Awesome! You’ve added another “mushroom soup” recipe to your repertoire 🙂 The scallops do look yummy!

    I don’t get asked what’s for dinner anymore – they look at the menu on the wall (I love it).

    And why do you usually have to cook? I don’t cook most nights because I’m the “mom” but because I work part time and thus it’s more feasible.

  2. Liz Says:

    For some reason in my house mom=cook. If I were as organized as you then I might have a menu on the wall. But … I HATE meal planning. You’d think the people who live in my house would figure this out. All I need is someone to suggest something and I’m good. Last week Thomas went to the store and bought hamburger because I saw 3, count them 3, sloppy joe recipies on tv when I was sick. I really wanted sloppy joes. He bought extra hamburger because he wanted meatloaf. Cool! Someone else made the plan, I just had to do the cooking! I’m all over that one.

  3. Julie Says:

    Well there you go! Have Thomas do the plan and you execute (so to speak). I’m the opposite – I like making the plan and i don’t mind grocery shopping, but I HATE cooking! Hey, WE should live together 🙂


Comments are closed.