Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

12/23/08 Where do you keep your dreams? December 23, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 2:01 pm

Where were we? At the dinner table I think. Christopher was regaling us with some wild story that we assumed was a dream. When I asked him if it was a dream he said no. Then Jonah asked him where he kept his dreams and Christopher responded quite seriously, “I keep them in my eyes.” What an amazing kid to come up with that.

I got Christmas cards with the annual newsletter mailed today! Woohoo! Thankfully the cards were made in years prior so all I had to do was sign them, stuff them with a newsletter into an envelope, and seal them. Last weekend I printed addresses on paper and ran them through my Xyron and made labels.

I am sort of prepared for Christmas. We have presents for everyone except Sarah. What does a 10 month old need or want? Heck if I know! It’s not like she’s going to know if she got anything. Mostly she needs to get something because Santa brings something for everyone and Christopher will notice if she doesn’t get anything. I have to wrap everything when Christopher isn’t looking. That should prove to be fun … not! Maybe he should go to daycare tomorrow for a couple of hours. We have everything we need for dinner tomorrow except for dessert. Thomas may go to Costco to get a pie this afternoon. Then again he may decide it’s not worth the hassle. Costco is so not a fun place during the holidays. I may have to punt. I think I can make pumpkin bread and cranberry orange bread for dessert. It’s not like we have any whipped cream anyway. We went to Safeway on Saturday and they were TOTALLY OUT of regular whipped cream. They had lite but who wants lite whipped cream?!? What kind of store is out of whipped cream during the holidays?!?

Thankfully I’m off tomorrow. I had to take a vacation day but it’s totally worth it! Hopefully the two little kids will realize that I’m off from work and will sleep in. But who am I kidding? They both wake up between 6:30 and 7am. There is no sleeping in for me.

Ahhh! How could I forget?!? Sunday night was the first night of Chanukah. We lit the candles and said the blessing. Jonah recited the blessing on some website called Talk Box. Whatever that is. But I coached him on the Hebrew pronunciation and he did a fairly good job. We even remembered to light the candles last night. We’re done for the rest of the holiday though … I ran out of candles. Maybe I can get to Target before the sun goes down. Doubtful though. Due to cutbacks this year Chanukah is only two nights long.

Merry Christmas everyone!!!

 

One Response to “12/23/08 Where do you keep your dreams?”

  1. Julie E Says:

    Thanks for the card and newsletter Liz, I enjoyed the updates. You are much more put together than I am for things like that. I don’t think I’ve managed cards for several years. That doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy getting them, just have a hard time with the Christmas half and the Chanukah half and trying to do too many things at the same time.

    I did call my MIL on Christmas, she’s in TX now, so we don’t get to see her very often (I think it’s been 2 years), but we enjoyed a long conversation on the speaker phone, and talk of getting webcams too.

    Happy New Year!


Comments are closed.