Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

01/19/09 Sick of work January 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 10:54 am

First of all I want to wish Julie a happy birthday! I hope Dave & the girls take you out somewhere nice to celebrate!

Now that I wrote something happy I have no way to gracefully segue to the title of the blog post … so it’ll just have to be awkward.

Can it be possible to be sick of working? I’ve been working for over 25 years and I’m tired of it. It’s the same old crap every day. Get up, take a shower, get dressed, grab coffee and race to work. At work all you do is work for someone else to make them money, get treated like what you do doesn’t matter (this only happens when I work for a man – and hey that’s all I’ve ever worked for), wait for 5 o’clock, then go home. Just to have it start all over again the next day. I can’t decide if I am just sick of where I work or if I am sick of being someone else’s b*tch. This is going to shock some of you … but there are some days that I think I would be happier just staying home taking care of the kids. Despite the poop, there are also hugs and kisses.

The good news is the sun finally came out at work. But it’s too damn cold to go outside to enjoy it.

This cheery post is brought to you by … hmmm … meh.

 

6 Responses to “01/19/09 Sick of work”

  1. Julie Says:

    Thanks for the birthday wishes 🙂

    Sounds like you definitely need a vacation! Having two small children and taking classes definitely speeds the burn out. I’ll be honest, I tend to feel just as burned out with the home stuff….I’m sick of doing laundry, dishes, grocery shopping, etc. etc. etc.

  2. Mary H Says:

    Trust me, you can get sick of anything you are doing—including being sick, which I currently am.

    Liz, I’ve been the working, nursing, mother of toddlers where staying home sounds so nice.
    Julie, I did the home stuff with my kids for several years and there were times I felt trapped in a very tiny universe.
    As for me, this is day 6 of ill health and the first day I have any energy to be online, even with a laptop while in bed. I’m looking at least 4 more days before I can go back to work.

    See? No matter what we have, we can still whine! What are friends for but to let us whine, get it out of our system & go on.

  3. Liz Says:

    Yes, I’ll have a little whine with my meal 🙂

    Mary I hope you’re feeling better soon!

    I am taking Friday the 30th and Monday the 2nd off for a nice long 4 day weekend. And then I’ll have enough vacation to do that one more time before the middle of April!

  4. Mary H Says:

    Thanks, Liz. I am doing better but still light-headed. The new ER at Sacred Heart is surprisingly soothing. It did feel a bit like something out of Star Trek, with me connected to one computer which was tracking blood pressure, temp, oxygenation, etc. It’s been over 30 years since I have been in an ER and the changes were all good.

    I’m looking forward to going back to work on Monday.

  5. Liz Says:

    You went to the ER?!? Holy cow! You must have been sick!

    The ER at SHMC was horrid. I haven’t been to the ER at RB but I have spent a lot of time on the 6th floor at RB. Both my mom and my MIL were on that floor.

  6. Mary H Says:

    Actually, by the time I went to the ER, I was better. I went to the 4J Wellness Center because I was taking so long to get better and couldn’t walk without getting wiped out. They freaked and sent me to the ER. IVs, blood test, urine test, CT scan and they still don’t know what happened. Gave me drugs and sent me home, with follow ups with a gastroenterologist. Saw him today and have a colonoscopy scheduled. I’m hoping the dizziness/lightheadedness will stop once I am done with the meds.

    I’m back at work and doing a bit better each day. I’m going home for lunch and resting then.


Comments are closed.