Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

Pumpkin! October 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 12:16 pm

I had planned to write this blog post on Sunday but, as any of you with kids can understand, things just got in the way. On Saturday we took the kids to a different playground near the Amazon Pool. They had a blast. I don’t think Sarah stopped running, except when she pooped … which she did twice! Unfortunately she woke up from her nap with a 102+° (that’s Alt-0176) fever. All she wanted to do was to either snuggle with one of us or lay down. 

Poor kid. But by Sunday she turned whiny. Her fever was gone by mid day on Sunday but it is Tuesday now and she’s still whiny.

 Somehow I managed to type on this stupid keyboard where the spacebar mostly doesn’t work …oh no wait, that’s not what I was going to say … I managed to roast two small pumpkins (She talks about sugar pie pumpkins. I don’t know what those are so I just asked Thomas to buy two pumpkins that were about the size of my head.) (I forgot to take a picture of the roasted pumpkins, so here are the skins from the compost bucket),

 make pumpkin the puree (see link above),

and roast the pumpkin seeds.

I also found this recipe for no-kneed bread from the same website and made it too. When I took it out of the oven it smelled good, it had that “hollow” sound when I tapped the bottom, and it tasted really good, but I wrapped it too tightly so by Sunday it was a little weird.

Oh, and I made chicken and mushroom risotto for dinner. By the end of the day I felt like one of those women I read about on-line who seem to be able to do a zillion creative things *and* deal with their kids.

 Lest you wonder why I made pumpkin puree, I had a plan. I found a recipe for Starbuck’s pumpkin scones on the same website where I got the other pumpkin info and really wanted to make them. So I did.

And they were (still are) awesome! Unfortunately my favorite type of baking (the fall) involves things with ginger and Thomas isn’t fond of ginger. So he’s had one bite of one scone. Yesterday I found a recipe to some awesome looking pumpkin muffins that I want to try. Oh, and something called Pumpkin leather too.

For those of you who know Christopher’s godparents, Butch & Lynne, they could use some prayers. Butch has been going through some health issues and any “extra” help we can give I am sure is appreciated. Hell, even if you don’t know them a prayer for two of the neatest people you could ever meet would be nice!!!

 

2 Responses to “Pumpkin!”

  1. dara Says:

    thanks for the link for the pumpkin scones. I love the ones from Starbucks but they are too expensive to have regularly.

    • Liz Says:

      And they are SO easy to make!!! I find Starbucks just too expensive period. I am much happier to make my own coffee and treats 🙂


Comments are closed.