Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

Ground Beef and Macaroni Casserole January 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 5:49 pm

I cooked on Wednesday night … I know, I owe everyone the Julie Child recipe post! There is a lot to write and many pictures to edit. I don’t see how these stay-at-home moms who blog have the dang time to blog! … so anyway I cooked … and I cooked something from my past. But I had to modify it because the first time I cooked it no one liked it. I created the original recipe in high school, or shortly there after. It was a box-less version of hamburger helper and it was only meant to feed my mom and I. I had to not only increase the quantity but change the spice mixture (Oregano doesn’t taste as good as I remember it tasting). So below is the recipe I re-created on Wednesday. Everyone liked it. I think Micah even loved it. Jonah was so hungry when he came home I don’t think it would have mattered what it tasted like. But he ate all of the leftovers so it must not have sucked too much. Oh, and the reason I decided to make this is Safeway had a 5lb chub of 80/20 hamburger on sale for $4.95!!! There will be meatloaf in our future too.

Ground Beef and Macaroni Casserole or Real Hamburger Helper

Olive Oil

1 medium onion, chopped

1lb mushrooms, sliced (I used Cremini)

1 green bell pepper, chopped

Minced garlic (I used a few cloves)

2 lbs ground beef (I used 80/20)

14oz can tomato sauce

14oz can stewed tomatoes

6oz can tomato paste

1c water

1t Basil

1t Thyme

1t Marjoram

½t Oregano

1 Bay Leaf

red wine

1lb elbow macaroni

parmesan cheese

A couple of turns of olive oil around the sauté pan (use a big one), let it heat up then sauté the onions. Once they’re nice and translucent add the mushrooms. When the mushrooms are about 80% done add the green pepper and garlic. Saute for a few minutes until the peppers are soft then set this aside.

Put water on to boil for the macaroni.

Brown the ground beef and drain. Add the mixture from above and then all the rest of the ingredients, except the macaroni. Blend the tomato paste into the water. Let simmer for 15 – 30 minutes.

When the pasta water comes to a boil, put the macaroni in and cook according to package directions. When it is done, drain well and add to ground beef mixture. Just take the whole pan to the table and serve family style. Grate parmesan cheese on top of everyone’s servings. Crusty bread is nice to serve with it.

 

2 Responses to “Ground Beef and Macaroni Casserole”

  1. Denae Says:

    This makes me hungry! Yum. Thanks for the recipe, I’m going to try it!

    • Liz Says:

      If you’re going to make it for yourself I would cut the recipe in half or you’ll have lots of leftovers! Well, I suppose you could freeze them … 🙂


Comments are closed.