Liz' s Musings's

Liz's musings on life – mostly her kids though.

Boeuf Bourguignon January 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liz @ 8:22 pm

As promised here is the post, complete with step-by-step pictures, on my adventures making boeuf bourguignon from Mastering the Art of French Cooking by Julia Child (and two other women whose names I forget).

First some commentary … boeuf bourguignon is nothing more than French beef stew. It’s a good thing I made it on a Saturday because it takes about 3-4 hours to make so it’s not exactly something you can whip together after you get home from work. One thing my mom and I decided after dinner is 2 1/2 hours was way too long for this to cook, but that was the minimum suggested cooking time. My mom mentioned something about cuts of meat in France being different. Next time, if there is a next time, I’d cook it for 2 hours.

[Edited: ARGH! This stupid WordPress editor! I cannot figure out what it did to my formatting. None of the captions are in the right place! I know all six of you are intelligent people and can figure out which caption goes with what picture.]

Recipe – you can find the complete recipe linked above:recipe

Here are the ingredients:

bacon
The bacon cut into what I hope are “lardons”. If it weren’t for seeing Melissa d’Arabian on Food Network cut bacon and called them “lardons” I wouldn’t have had any idea what that term meant.

Boiling the bacon (not very appealing):

The beef, patted dry to ensure proper browning (good tip!):beef, patted dry

The bacon, draining:draining bacon

Frying it up in a pan (who remembers that commercial?):frying bacon

Blanched pearl onions (from a separate recipe):blanched pearl onions

Browning the meat (that took for.ev.er!):browning beef

Flouring the beef (to thicken the sauce later):flour on beef

Sauteing the onions and carrots:onions & carrots

Everything except the mushrooms & pearl onions in a casserole at a simmer. Next time I’d use a dutch oven, it’s slightly bigger and it has side handles.bringing it to a boil

The pearl onions, browned in a frying pan then put in the oven to … brown some more.browned pearl onions

Mushrooms in a frying pan:mushrooms

The mushrooms & onions waiting patiently:mushrooms & onions

The mushrooms and onions combined with the beef, after the beef juices and wine were drained into a saucepan.drained beef with mushrooms & onions

The sauce of deliciousness:The sauce

The final product:The final product

The peas Louisette suggested (you’ll have to see the movie Julie & Julia to understand the reference):peas

And finally the noodles (we didn’t have potatoes):noodles

I can see why Julie Powell wanted to channel her inner Julia. I love to cook and I felt so cook-like while I was making this. After I ate it I decided I could do a passable recreation in the pressure cooker.

Since I’ve been unemployed I’ve been making a lot more actual dinner food. I think the majority of the family is enjoying eating real meals at the dinner table. I think Christopher would rather just have a pb&j sandwich. Four year olds are rather picky in this regard. Sarah is still pretty good at eating most things.

I do not know how real bloggers have time to do these long detained posts with pictures and everything. Taking the pictures during the cooking process wasn’t too hard. I just had to think about which steps I wanted to document. However it’s taken me the better part of an hour to compose this post. My six readers, I love you but this kind of detail probably isn’t going to happen again in the near future.

 

One Response to “Boeuf Bourguignon”

  1. Mary Says:

    Great photos, Liz. Cooking is fun, especially when you have an appreciative audience. For me, it’s been soups. I love the “Monastery Soup” cookbooks. Now I just have to figure out how to follow the directions better; Make too many substitutes and it tastes like the soup you made last week—and the week before. ;D

    I totally agree about the blogging/photo time commitment. I know it gets easier the more you do it but…your standards go up too. Getting pickier makes it harder to do. For example, I want to make a photo booth where I can take photos of small things. Sandy had a permanent one set up on a shelf: lights on either side, fabric screens to diffuse the lighting and different color cloth backgrounds for quick changes.

    Maybe if I have that second cup of coffee, I won’t be so cranky this morning!


Comments are closed.